Slide background

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors has a combination of Executive and Non-Executive Directors. The Board comprises of four Whole-time Directors (the Managing Director and three Executive Directors) and four Non-executive Independent Directors.. Accordingly, the Composition of the Board is in conformity with the Listing Agreement.

Except the Managing Director, all other Directors are liable to retire by rotation as per the provisions of the Companies Act, 1956.

The names and categories of the Director on the Board are as under:

Mr. Biswajit Choudhari
Chairman & Independent Director

Mr. Biswajit Choudhari, B.Tec ( Hons), FICWA, aged 75 years, has five decades of experience in Engineering, Banking, Finance and Management. Shri Biswajit Choudhari graduated as a Mechanical Engineer from IIT, Kharagpur in 1963 is also a Fellow Member of ICWAI and Indian institute of Banking and Finance.

Mr. B. L. Agrawal
Managing Director

Mr. B.L. Agrawal aged 64  years has over 39  years of experience is an Electronic Engineer, he is a first generation entrepreneur. While his family concentrated on its traditional trading business, it was his entrepreneurial spirit that laid the foundation of GPIL and the entry of the Agrawal family into the metals business.

Mr. Abhishek Agrawal
Executive Director

Mr.  Abhishek Agrawal, youngest son of Shri B.L. Agrawal, aged 33 years, is a second generation entrepreneur. He is qualified in Masters Degree in International Business from Leeds University, U.K.

With his entrepreneurial spirit, he laid the foundation and then successful operation of Pellet Plant in GPIL. His managerial skill and leadership quality is exemplary. His competence strategically directs the company.

Mr. Dinesh Agrawal
Executive Director

Mr. Dinesh Agrawal aged  46  years is also a second generation entrepreneur and is associated with the GPIL and the group activities for over 21 years, he is an Electrical Engineer and has been associated with the company’s Ferro alloys and steel rolling units in the past. He is currently overseeing the setting up of the captive power plant.

Mr. Dinesh Gandhi
Non Executive Director

Mr. Dinesh Gandhi aged 55 years is a fellow member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of India and Institute of Company Secretaries of India, he brings to the table his 29 years of experience in the areas of accounts, finance, project planning and financing. A dynamic financial analyst, his competence strategically directs the company.

Mr. Siddharth Agrawal
Non Executive Director

Shri Siddharth Agrawal aged 36 years is an M.B.A. having more than 10 years of experience in various capacities and presently he is Managing Director of Godawari Green Energy Limited (GGEL), a subsidiary of the Company, managing & overseeing the operation, which inter alia includes production, general administration and other associated matters etc.

Mr. Vinod Pillai
Executive Director

Mr. Vinod Pillai,aged 49 years, is a commerce graduate having two decades of experience in Sales, Administration, Liaisoning, Logistics, and has played a vital role in commissioning of new projects of Hira Group of Industries.

Mr. Shashi Kumar
Independent Director

Mr. Shashi Kumar, aged 71 years, having about 48 years of rich experience in various fields, is a B.Sc. (Hons.) graduated in Mining Engineering form Indian School of Mines, Dhanbad and obtained his 2nd class Mine Managers Certificate of competency (in 1969) and 1st class Mine class Mine Managers Certificate of Competency (in 1970).

Since retirement from Coal India Limited Shri Shashi Kumar has been working as Advisor (Coal) to NTPC Ltd. IFFCO and Chhattisgarh Power Limited (a joint venture of IFFCO and the state of Chhattisgarh represented through CSEB).

Mr. B. N. Ojha
Independent Director

Mr. B.N. Ojha aged 73 years, is Bachelor of Electrical Engineering from BIT Sindari having over four decades of experience. He served NTPC in various capacities till 2003. He is presently on the Board of various reputed companies like Nuclear Power Corporation, (Govt. of India Undertaking), Regional Electricity Boards, Northern Coal Fields Limited and Damodar Valley Corporation and he is holding Chairmanship in Bhilai Electric Supply Limited and NSPCL. Presently he is also a member of the Export Committee, Department of Atomic Energy, Govt. of India.

Ms. Bhavana G Desai
Woman Independent Director

Ms. Bhavna G. Desai is a Bachelor in Commerce from Bombay University having over two decades of experience in shares and security market activities. She was associated as a partner with a firm M/s G. B. Desai which is engaged in the business of dealing with securities.

Mr. Harishankar Khandelwal
Independent Director

Mr. Harishankar Khandelwal, is a Chartered Accountant, having over 29 years of experience in the field of Corporate Planning and Strategy, Financial Analysis, Accounts & Auditing, Taxation, Costing /Budgeting, Finance, Business Development and Administration.

Globalization is gathering momentum and so, we are also replicating the best governing practices as being followed in other parts of the developed countries irrespective of the political, cultural and historical factors. Although this factors continue to be formidable barriers, our approach is always proactive and effective in embracing the best corporate governance practices in the world with a vision to maximize share holders value.

Scroll to Top